Municipal Authority


Gordon R. Sheffer



Jack E. Erath



Mark Piccirilli



Kerien Fitzpatrick



Jeffrey S. Maze Asst. Secretary/Treasurer



Samuel J. Orr, III, Esq.


1521 Third Street
Beaver, PA  15009

Lennon, Smith, Souleret
Engineering, Inc.


846 Fourth Avenue
Coraopolis, PA  15108


The Brighton Township Municipal Authority (BTMA) is comprised of five (5) members appointed by the Board of Supervisors to serve five (5) year terms. Meetings are held the third Monday of the month at 7:45 P.M. in the Municipal Building. Please call the Authority Office at (724) 774-4800 to confirm meeting dates and times as they are subject to change.

Office hours at the Municipal Building, 1300 Brighton Road, are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The maintenance crew works Monday through Friday, 7:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. and may be reached by phone at (724) 495-3409. Please note that employees are not always available in the garage to answer calls. Messages may be left with the administrative staff at the Municipal Building. Emergency calls after hours or on weekends and holidays should be made to the non-emergency police number (724) 774-1789. Calls will be forwarded to the proper contact.


When calling to report an emergency please provide the following information:

    • Name of person calling;
    • Phone number where you can be reached;
    • Address of emergency; and
    • Nature of emergency (dirty water, no water, etc.).

The BTMA was created by Township Ordinance and organized under the Municipal Authorities Act of 1945 to provide public water service to Brighton Township. The BTMA began water supply operations to a portion of Brighton Township on December 1, 1952. At that time the population of the Township was approximately 3,100 and only 191 customers were served by the water system. The existing system now serves approximately 3,070 connections and provides service to seventy-three percent (73%) of the Township’s population of approximately 8,800 residents.